The Saga of Fred’s Crafty Creatures

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Another day swallowed up by I know not what. Managed to walk. Stared at the computer a lot. Watched a lot of TV (Series of Unfortunate Events). Got the sock creature supplies out of storage. Had to buy sewing scissors and polyfil. Started on a new one. There was already one mostly made—I need to stuff it and sew the arms and legs on.

Sunday, January 22, 2017

I spent the ENTIRE day obsessively making stupid sock creatures. My eyes are jumping from the strain. I finished three of them. The fourth I kept screwing up, so I quit after getting the legs wrong for the third time. I had a cup of tea in the morning and a little bit of coffee later. I have a dental appointment tomorrow at 2:40. I hope I can make it. I doubt I’ll get much sleep tonight.

Monday, January 23, 2017

It feels like I spent the entire day at the dentist. But I didn’t. I started three sock creatures and finished zero today. I have no idea what else I did other than watch TV, but that was mostly background noise for sock creatures. I bought the sequel book. Again. Because the first one isn’t coming until Thursday. Should have gotten it here in the first place—it was cheaper.

Thursday, January 26, 2017

I have been making stupid sock creatures like mad. There are now nine. I’ve had too much caffeine for a few days now. Need to stop.

Saturday, January 28, 2017

Still making stupid sock creatures. Bought new socks after someone asked if the bat was for sale. Had to say no because used socks.

Sunday, January 29, 2017

Constitutional crisis. Madness. Madman. Doom. Still making sock creatures. Changed the batteries in both 35mm cameras. Need to use them. It’s starting to affect me.

Monday, January 30, 2017

Still making sock creatures. Not doing much else, except posting pics of cats, creatures, and spiders. I wish I could become obsessed with cleaning. And painting.

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

More sock creatures. Made a Donald Trump with flappy hair.

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Haven’t read in a week. My mind is too active, but it’s all noise. All I can do is make sock creatures and take pictures. I don’t know what we will do if they don’t impeach the bastard. Mailed bat.

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Made the blisters I got yesterday walking from the vet school to the student union worse today. Can only hobble now. I sewed shut one of my sock creatures today—inside out and unstuffed. I’m so tired. Can’t seem to get enough sleep. Will try to go to bed early tonight. Might take Ambien. Time marches on, the world gets darker, and I keep sewing sock creatures.

Friday, February 17, 2017

I’m still at it with the sock creatures, and have even graduated to closet monsters, thanks to my shiny new sewing machine. I sold seven of the sock creatures to FB people, so I opened an Etsy shop. They bought most of the really good ones, so now I have a sad, sparse collection of all of four up on Etsy. I’ve completely stopped reading.

Leave a Reply

